Thread: clorine?? TDS??

olno186 is offline Junior Member

Default clorine?? TDS??

I have my own water system . I just purchased a TDS meter and was wondering what is with the removal of clorine or better yet which clorine to use. I have been using just regular household bleach for 15 yrs. keeping my clorine at a min. .04 or less. I am also running a carbon filter 1.5 cu. ft. and never knew much about water. always thought clorine was good ,,seems every city uses it. Anyway i was just told about TDS and i was also told that household bleach 5.25% isn't strong enough to kill all ecolie. they say I have to use 12% is this true??? Any help with this would be appecitate ,,,Thanks Oh i am using a pond and any advise on making my water pure would be helpfull
    Last edited by olno186; 01-16-2011 at 08:43 AM.

Andy CWS is offline Moderator

Pond water use takes many new aspect in water treatment. many systems use alum to help remove suspended matter. Disinfection is the key focus.

Chlorination/dechlorination is one type of disinfection. Others may involve UV lights, hydrogen peroxide, and iodine.

With your chlorination system, do you have any retention tank (say, 120gal.) that the beach stays in before going to the carbon filter? If not, that should strongly be considered.

Rule of thumb is to have the water come into contact with the bleach at least 20 minutes. Figure tha gallons/minute. The shorter the time, the stronger the solution. So yes, household sodium hyperchlorite (bleach) can be used as a disinfectant providing contact time is adequate.

Without retention, you may have inadequate results AND your carbon will 'die' faster.

I think 0.04ppm is too low. I recommend at least 0.5ppm before removal.

Can you describe your system in details from pond to faucet? How is the bleach injected into the water?