Thread: What could happen with an unmaintained filter?

Brigid is offline Junior Member

Default What could happen with an unmaintained filter?

I just found out that the RO system I've been drinking water from for 3 months has not had filters or membranes replaced for years! The system has been in this house for 6 years, it may be that long! The reason I was questioning my father about it is because I've had diarrhea for 3 months. The lab confirmed an Ambiesis (amoeba) infection and prescribed an antibiotic which did nothing.

I'm racking my brain to figure out some other cause. Prior to 3 months ago, I was drinking Brita Pitcher water at home. Does anyone see a connection here? I think the system should be purged but I don't know how to do it and my father is 90 years old and slowing down. He's been the one I expected to maintain it.

Thanks for your input.

Alex is offline Senior Member

Default Filter Change and cleaning - RO Sanitization

RO systems use a series of sediment and carbon filters as well as a membrane to filter water much finer than standard carbon filters.

If the filters are neglected, the carbon filters will not be able to effectively reduce chlorine and can damage most standard TFC membranes. (CTA (cellulose) membranes are absent from this as they can be used with chlorine)

The chlorine damages the membrane which can cause the membrane to fowl and reduce filtration to allow contaminants through. Membranes can last 2-5 years depending on the brand and if you maintain your prefilters.

Overtime, if there was ever bacteria introduced within the system it may cause bacteria growth. It is advised to disinfect the system atleast every other filter change. Also be sure to wash your hands prior to handling your filters to reduce bacteria cross contamination.