Thread: Is this a Proper Config for Kinetico 4040S OD/RO system?

deeonline is offline Junior Member

Default Is this a Proper Config for Kinetico 4040S OD/RO system?

Hello,
    We have a 2 story house in Los Angeles. I've just got a quote from a Kinetico dealer for the following Water Softener/RO configuration (see below). Could you please tell me if this looks OK? Did the dealer miss anything (like a prefilter or something)? Are there are any additional questions I should ask them? I am very new to these systems. Thank you very much in advance.

Kinetico 4040SOD Carbon/Softener with 18x35 Brine Tank
    Sediment PreFilter with 20" BB Housing
    Carbon/Sediment Filter 10 micron

40 lb. Solar Salt
    Kinetico K5 Reverse Osmosis system with Water-on-Water Storage Tank
    with Optional VOC Guard Filter
    with Hi-Flow Shiny Chrome Faucet

Andy CWS is offline Moderator

Everything looks good. You might waqnt a smaller brine tank (12x16x20) if space is an issue. It holds about 50lbs. I am not sure why there is a carbon/sediment filter before the softener when a plain sediment filter is all that is necessary.

The VOC filter is a fine option as it removes far more than a typical carbon filter. I don't recommend solar salt as it may not be as clean as 'evaporated' type salts. Definitely don't need any iron-out salt.

Andy Christensen

deeonline is offline Junior Member

Thank you very much, Andy. I will make sure to ask those questions.

motwinsplus1g is offline Junior Member

I'm curious if you'd want to share the quote he gave you? I just received a quote for the same system and wondering if it's fair. Thanks

pawaterguy is offline Senior Member