Thread: water softener questions(which resin, turbulator, resin for tannins and size softener

cjw
    cjw is offline Junior Member

Default water softener questions(which resin, turbulator, resin for tannins and size softener

man, i am new to this form stuff, i wrote before but i think it is going somewhere else on this page.
    anyway, i am in the market for a new water softener and have been researching the internet. now i am at looking at a fleck 5600sxt on demand
    i think i need a 40,000 grains size, and now i have to decide if i need a thing called a turbulator and if i need a fine mesh resin and if the turbulator will not work with a fine mesh resin, now i will give the water test results:
    HARDNESS: 16 GPG
    IRON: 1.5
    PH: 7.5
    TDS: 250
    TANNINS: 1.1
    PEOPLE: 3
    IS THERE A MESH THAT ALSO HELPS REMOVE THE TANNINS AND IF THAT WILL EFFECT MY PH?
    I READ SOMEWHER THAT THERE IS SOMETHING YOU CAN USE ON TOP OF THE RESIN TO HELP WITH TANNINS, BUT I DON'T WANT TO MESS UP MY PH LEVEL.

Akpsdvan is offline Senior Member

There are resins for tannin... but in my years here in Alaska I have yet to find one that really works......

If some one has tannin I my self walk away and will not treat it because it is a losing battle over the long run.

Are you sure that there is tannin in the water?
    I know that here tannin has two tails, or this is tannin... high ph or 8.5 and low hardness say 1 grain 2 max.. now there are times that is not true , but more times than not here that is the case.

Is the water with out color?
    Would a bottle of the water go yellow-orange and then clear as the color is now down at the bottom of the bottle?

cjw