Thread: Muddy sediment - varying opinions

jdiver is offline Junior Member

Default Muddy sediment - varying opinions

Some background: There is a very fine dark gray sediment (muddy almost) that comes in constantly from our well. We have a basic GE whole house water filter using a filter with a micron rating of 30-50. It filters out the sediment and the water pressure is good and the water crystal clear for about 2 weeks of use. After that the pressure drops because the filter is clogged and I change the filter and start the cycle over again. I've been doing this for 2 1/2 years since I bought the house, but we're now putting on a very large addition in the fall and I want the problem fixed rather than band-aided.

Our well was put in back in 1985 and is 305 feet deep with the pump set at 295 feet, with PVC casing. I don't know if the pump has ever been replaced, or any other history of the well other than the aforementioned info that is stamped on it. We've gotten several opinions about the problem from well companies to a friend of ours who has worked for the EPA for 30 years dealing with water issues of all kinds.

Opinion #1: The pump is stirring up sediment from the bottom when it comes on, and raising the pump 10 feet could fix it. That suggestion also included putting in a new pump for a total of about $3k-$4k.

Opinion #2: The casing isn't deep enough and adding a liner that goes deeper than the current casing to get past the sediment area could fix it. Probably around $1k.

Opinion #3: Drill a new well. Around $12k.

We don't want to throw good money after bad with this one, but also would rather not drill a whole new well if we don't have to. I found this forum when ordering more filters and figured it couldn't hurt to ask the experts on here for additional opinions and advice. Much thanks in advance.

Andy CWS is offline Moderator

Boy, prices in your area are so much higher than what I am used to.